Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 09, 2016

♥ Blue & Pink

 photo sdfewf_1.jpg
BERNIE DEXTER DRESS* // NEW LOOK CARDIGAN // SHELLYS SHOES // SUZY SMITH BAG // CHEAP FRILLS RINGS // LUCKYDIPCLUB BROOCH
 photo sfewfr.jpg
I wore this outfit when Carl & I went to get ice cream the other day. It's still not really the weather for it here in the UK, despite it being March, I was bloody freezing! The dress is a recent addition to my wardrobe, I was very kindly sent it by Unique Vintage, & it is this Bernie Dexter one. I've always wanted to try out a Bernie Dexter dress, as I've always admired the prints, so it's nice to finally own one! I got it in the 4x & it fits perfectly.
♥ ♥ ♥
Unique Vintage have quite a wide selection of cute plus size clothes, stocking brands like Hell Bunny, as well as their own designs. They have an individual size chart for each items they stock, which makes it easy to see what would fit you, although it means sizing is not consistent across the site, but this is more down to all the brands they stock having varying sizes/measurements.
 photo sfewfeg.jpg  photo sfewfeag.jpg  photo fewfwef.jpg
This post is also the first ones with my new glasses! I had worn my other ones for over 4 years, almost the entirety of this blog, so it was about time for a change, I think. I got given the opportunity to get a free eye test and glasses from Specsavers, and these are the pair I chose. A different shape for me, but I loved the colours, they are a very pretty purple and turquoise, with pink arms, so they remind me of mermaid glasses.
♥ ♥ ♥
This was my first time trying a new opticians, I've only ever been to my local one, which doesn't have any of the fancy equipment that Specsavers had, it was rather interesting to have all these weird tests done that I've never had before, haha!
 photo gsgesf.jpg
Wearing my personalised brooch I got in the biscuit box from Luckydipclub, how cute is it?
 photo aefewaf.jpg  photo sfewfqw.jpg  photo teshrey.jpg  photo sgfewfe.jpg
♥ Georgina

Friday, February 26, 2016

♥ Impish Lee Lingerie Review ♥

 photo egefw.jpg
Earlier this year I was sent some custom made loungewear & lingerie from independent New York based designer Impish Lee, run by sisters Kali & Noelle. I was invited to create my own designs on their customizer, picking out which base design I wanted, then choosing which fabrics I wanted and finishing details. This type of customisation is new to me, especially for lingerie. I chose pieces made with white velvet, pink mesh & pink lace.
♥ ♥ ♥
 I opted for their tap short, high waisted panty, and flutter top, since I was sized out of their bras, unfortunately. I would have loved to try one, but I wear a 40J, and the biggest size on the site is a UK 40GG. Shame! Impish Lee go up to a size 24 US, although based on measurements on their site, this is actually equivalent to somewhere between a size 22-24 UK. Since my hips run a bit wider than this, the shorts don't fit me *well*, obviously everything has lots of stretch, but it's still a bit small for me. The top & the panties fit me nicely though.
 photo fsfte.jpg  photo fhdfh.jpg  photo gwegfw.jpg
The top retails for $78, the shorts are $68 and the panties are also $78, which in the UK ranges from £49 - £56. This is a luxury product though, and handmade in New York, not at a factory in China as so many clothes are made nowadays. I do like to support independent designers, because as one myself I understand the struggles of people thinking your product is overpriced when in fact costs have been carefully worked out and you are only paying yourself a fair wage.  
 photo gsew.jpg  photo fawdwq.jpg
 photo regtewt.jpg  photo regewt.jpg
One thing I would really like to see though, aside from the size range being extended, is a small detail, custom labels inside the garments! This is a weird request, I know, since labels are often annoying to most, but I like to see some sort of branding, especially in independently designed things, as sometimes I forget where exactly I got something, and if I want to recommend something it's hard when I have no idea where it's from! 
 ♥ ♥ ♥
Have a play around on their customizer, since it's really fun, and if you decide to place an order, use the code Cupcakes10 to get 10% off!
 
♥ Georgina ♥
 
P.S. I was really nervous to include the wearing shots, since I've never done that before on my blog, so please be nice :P

Saturday, December 26, 2015

♥ Lucky Dip Club Review ♥

 photo sdfsfawf.jpg
I've been subscribed to Lucky Dip Club for 10 months now, so I thought it was about time I reviewed it on the blog. This is the December box, themed Cats & Cocktails, which arrived before Christmas, as Leona, the brains behind the box, worked extra hard to make sure they would arrive in time.
 photo sfef.jpg
Every month there are 5-6 indie/handmade items in the box, usually including stationery and a diy kit. This month I got a cross stitch kit, a weekly planner pad, a cat brooch, a cat themed Play Purse, a Christmas card, and the final charm of the month.
 photo fdgsdgfds.jpg
One of the things I love about Lucky Dip Club, and that makes it so unique, is that Leona often collaborates with other indie handmade small businesses. This time it's Karen Mabon, who designed the brooch, Play Purse, who made the cat purse, Tea & Crafting who designed the cross stitch kit, and Tiny Grey Cat who designed the Christmas card, who I followed on instagram for ages before this box. In previous months there have been collabs with brands like I Love Crafty, and Crown and Glory.
 photo fdgdfh.jpg
Everything is always super cute, and each month is themed. I think the themes I've had were Birds of Paradise, Raining Cats and Dogs, Vintage Village Fete, Dinosaur Disco, Under the Sea, A Geek Girl's Guide to Travel, Slumber Party, Biscuits, Space Girl, & Cat's & Cocktails. Even though there have been themes I've enjoyed less than others (Dinosaur Disco and Space Girl), I've never wanted to unsub, because I am genuinely excited at the end of the month when I know they are due to be popping through the door.
 
The box costs £18, and you can get a subscription only on the first of each month, usually super early, because they sell out quick! Or you can buy a one off version for £20 to sample the box before you commit. Lucky Dip Club was UK only this year, but I believe it will be available worldwide next year, & cost £5 for shipping (free if you live in the UK). Definitely would recommend giving this box a try if you like supporting indie businesses and getting surprises in the mail each month.
 ♥

Monday, December 21, 2015

♥ Japan Crate December Doki Doki Box Review ♥

 photo sfafwa.jpg
Recently the lovely people over at Japan Crate sent me an emailing, telling me about their new idea for a subscription box, called the Doki Doki box, which would be filled with cute things from Japan, and offered me one to review. I gladly accepted, because I love trying out subscription boxes, and I love cute things even more!
 photo gddfsg.jpg
Japan Crate are already known for their Japanese candy subscription box, which comes with 3 sizes & prices, so this expansion into cute stuff makes sense. The Doki Doki box is $30, or about £20 per month, with free US shipping (or $20 shipping internationally). In the December edition, their first release, I got lots of cute things. They promise between 8-10 items, & there were 9 in this box.
I got:
  • Rilakkuma plush
  • Panda eyemask
  • Jello candy kit
  • Totoro desk calendar
  • Alpacasso mini coin purse
  • Hello Kitty figurine
  • Totoro pouch
  • Pikachu necklace
  • Totoro character plush
 photo fdgsdg.jpg
There's also a pretty illustrated leaflet that tells you everything that should be in you box, and more information about the box.
 photo dgadfg.jpg
One thing that's really nice about this box, is that all the products are the branded ones, rather than knockoff versions, which can be a thing with other similar subscription boxes. I think the panda eye mask is the only thing that is offbrand. I also liked how many Totoro things there were, since that's my favourite Ghibli film. I especially love the desk calendar, as that is the perfect mix of cute and useful, I know I will get a lot of use out of that over the next year.
 
My favourite thing was the tiny Alpacasso purse though, I've wanted an alpaca by Amuse for ages, so I'm now one step closer to that goal, haha! I also really like the Rilakkuma plush, he's very adorable, and quite big. I turned the Pikachu necklace into a keyring for Carl, as I knew I'd never wear it, and he thinks it's adorable.
 photo sfesfes.jpg
Altogether very happy with this box. I've tried a similar box before, the Kawaii Box, I reviewed here, which was cheaper at $18.90 a month, including shipping, but most of the things in that were offbrand and smaller, although still very cute. I would recommend this box if you live in the US and/or prefer branded kawaii things, and the Kawaii Box if you are on a tighter budget, since this one can get pricy with international shipping!
 
Georgina ♥

Thursday, December 17, 2015

♥ Christmassy Bits & Bobs ♥

 photo dfssf.jpg
Hi again everyone! Sorry I've been so terrible AGAIN with updating the blog. But anyway, I'm back, and I have lots of new posts planned. This one is all about things that are making me feel festive. I love Christmas, so I decided to treat myself to a beauty advent calendar this year! I've not had one before, as I've seen them on plenty of blogs over the last few years.
 
I didn't know what one to go for, because there are so many options nowadays, I kinda wanted the Body Shop one, but at £60 it was more than I wanted to pay. I ended up with this pretty L'occitane one, which was cheaper at £40. I've opened 17 of the days so far, and I really like the contents. I have lots of pretty sample sized creams and things. There's also a few non beauty bits in there, like illustrated gift tags, and name cards, which I plan to put to use, since I'm hosting Christmas again this year. It's definitely more exciting than my chocolate calendar.
 photo sdgvewfw.jpg
Asda bring out the cutest Christmas bedding every year, so I decided to get some. It was £12 for a double size, and now my bedroom feels very Christmassy. The Thumper pillows don't really go though, haha!
 photo sfesfe.jpg
Blossoming Gifts sent me another of their bouquets to review, I picked this Cinnamon Spice one from their Christmas flower range, and it smells SO good! The cinnamon sticks really make the living room smell delightful, and the red flowers and berries certainly add a festive feel. You can still get 33% off a bouquet with code BGIFTS33.
 photo sfeasf.jpg  photo sfsdfa.jpg
Decorating the house for the second year! We put our tree up a few weeks ago, and I got this wreath for basically free with my Tesco clubcard points. I decorated with some of their tree decorations, also bought with my points! Would have hung it on the front door, but it's made of plastic, so can't really put a nail in the door without compromising it!
 photo sfawf.jpg
Carl & I went ice skating and Christmas shopping together in the local town centre the other week, where there was a "German" Market on. We got these adorable gingerbread hearts for each other, how cute are they? Not sure I can bring myself to eat mine, it's just decorating the dresser in the living room at the moment.
 
 ♥

Monday, September 28, 2015

♥ Too Faced Grand Palais Review ♥

 photo fdsgsdg.jpg
I recently ordered the Too Faced Le Grand Palais holiday palette from Sephora. I've been loving Too Faced recently, I just reviewed this blush, & now all the holiday 2015 items are coming out & I couldn't resist! This is a Sephora exclusive, so I had to order it from the US.
 photo dsgeg.jpg
Firstly, the packaging is again adorable, & part of the reason I ordered. This palette costs $58, which I think was around £39 when I placed my order. Ordering from the UK meant I had to pay about £10 to ship it, & another £10 in fees & taxes, making it pricy to ship. On the positive side, there were no unexpected customs charges, since these are all paid by Sephora before your parcel arrives.
 photo dgsersg.jpg
The set includes a deluxe sized Better Than Sex Mascara, deluxe Melted Lipstick in Peony, a deluxe sixe of their Shadow Insurance & an 18 eyeshadow & 2 blush, 1 highlight & contour palette. The website boasts a value of $378, but I'm not sure how true this is.
 photo dfgversg.jpg
I've wanted to try the Better Than Sex mascara for a while, I couldn't easily get hold of it so I bought Benefit's Roller Lash instead, so it will be interesting to see how it compares, as they are a similar price. The Melted Lipstick I also really wanted to try, I tested it out the other day & & the consistency & colour is nice, kinda similar to one of my favourite Mac lipsticks, Chatterbox, but slightly more pink. The Shadow Insurance I already have a mini of, I got it in my last Too Faced palette (the Pixie Pin Ups one), so I already know that is good.
 photo gawgfw.jpg
The eye shadow palette is removable from the main box, which means if you can bear to throw it away, the size of this is easy to store. I don't think I will be throwing mine away, it's too cute, but I have no idea where I'm going to keep it, as it's kinda impractical in size, and for using on a daily basis.
 photo dfgdergsg.jpg
A lot of the eye shadows in this palette are very sparkly, which I've heard others don't like, but I don't mind. I only have 4 eyeshadow palettes, so these are colours I don't have. You also get 2 blushes, 1 highlighter & a bronzer. I don't really use bronzer (too pale!), so I probably won't use this shade at all, but since it's only one colours I thought the palette was still worth it. I can't wait to try out all the shadows, like I said, I don't have these colours really, so I am looking forward to playing around.
 photo dfgewfsw.jpg
Would you buy this palette? Or do you have your eye on a different holiday item?

Saturday, September 19, 2015

♥Too Faced Love Flush Review ♥

 photo grsega.jpg
Ever since this blush came out, I've been anxiously checking for a UK release. I didn't want to order from the Too Faced store, because shipping costs made it too expensive. Eventually I spotted it on a little website called Rose's Beauty Store, for £24, which seemed reasonable. I didn't realise it was an import store, but seeing as this blush is due to be stocked in Debenhams for £25, the price seemed pretty good!
 photo dhyerstwe.jpg
The packaging is an adorable pink plastic heart compact with mirror & magnetic closure. I've heard a lot of people say that it reminds them of Polly Pockets (the 90s kind, not that modern day crap, haha!), & I can definitely see that. The packaging is most of the reason I wanted this blush, to be honest. I'm a sucker for cute makeup!
 photo dyjtrh.jpg
Upon opening the compact, you can see the blush has been pressed into the most freaking adorable bunny & floral design. This just makes me so happy, even though it obviously won't last after using the compact a good few times. I got the colour Justify My Love, there are 5 other shades available, & I believe that these will be a permanent addition to Too Face's line. 
 
This shade is a lovely cool toned pale pink, with small flecks of gold glitter. It boasts a 16 hour wear time, but as I never wear makeup for that long, I can't confirm that. I would really like to try another shade, but being a high end brand, it's kinda pricey, so I think I'll have to wait on that. And I don't really *need* another blush anyway!
 photo gdrgst.jpg
Anyone else a sucker for cute packaging?

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

♥ Blossoming Gifts Review ♥

 photo rgwegtwe.jpg  photo rysrgse.jpg
I was sent these lovely flowers by a company called Blossoming Gifts, who sell flower delivery bouquets & other such gifts. I chose the "Summer Meadow", from their Summer flowers range. They definitely brightened up my bedroom. I love fresh flowers so much, but never get fancy bouquets, just £2 or £3 bunches from the local shop, so it was a real treat to have these.
 photo dgrsg.jpg
The roses started drooping after a week, which isn't the best life from roses I've had, but the rest of the flowers are still doing pretty well 2 weeks on from delivery. They arrived promptly & well packaged on the day I chose. This bunch costs £34.99 & came with free chocolates, but you can get 33% off your own bouquet with the code BGIFTS33, which would be great for a gift.
 ♥

Wednesday, September 09, 2015

♥ Kawaii Box Review - August 2015 ♥

 photo rstges.jpg
I was recently sent the Kawaii Box, a subscription box service from Blippo, which is filled with lots of cute things from Japan. In each box there are 10-12 items that range from sweets, to stationery, to plushies. The box costs $18.90, which I think is about £15, & this includes shipping. You can also subscribe for longer to get a cheaper box. My box took 2 weeks exactly to arrive & came with a tracking number so you can see where it is at all times.
 photo drgr.jpg
Upon opening the box you are greeted with a thank you note, which also lists all of the things in the box. I didn't look too long at that, because that would spoil the surprise!
 photo dhdgs.jpg
After opening the tissue paper, there are lots of cute things. I got 11 items in this box. From adding up the costs of similar items on the Blippo site, I estimate the value of this box to be around £25, which definitely makes it a great deal. The items I got are: Puffy Bear Stickers; Squishy Ice Lolly Phone Charm, Cloud Envelopes; Macaron Charm Pen; DIY Candy Kit; Alapaca Tin Purse; Pig Spray Bottle, Neko Cat Plush; Pink Ribbon Shoelaces; Blue Gingham Tape & a Dinosaur Pencil Tin.
 photo fjdhjdfx.jpg  photo djhgfsj.jpg
I currently only subscribe to one subscription box, the LuckyDipClub one, which I absolutely love, but I feel like this one is worth considering, because I don't think I got anything that I didn't like, and I'd really like a box of cute Japanese things every month to look forward to. I've also tried Glossy Boxes, but I didn't really like those much, I didn't think the items were worth it.
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Do you subscribe to any boxes? Do you think they are worth it?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
© 2010-2012 Georgina Doull