Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Saturday, December 26, 2015

♥ Lucky Dip Club Review ♥

 photo sdfsfawf.jpg
I've been subscribed to Lucky Dip Club for 10 months now, so I thought it was about time I reviewed it on the blog. This is the December box, themed Cats & Cocktails, which arrived before Christmas, as Leona, the brains behind the box, worked extra hard to make sure they would arrive in time.
 photo sfef.jpg
Every month there are 5-6 indie/handmade items in the box, usually including stationery and a diy kit. This month I got a cross stitch kit, a weekly planner pad, a cat brooch, a cat themed Play Purse, a Christmas card, and the final charm of the month.
 photo fdgsdgfds.jpg
One of the things I love about Lucky Dip Club, and that makes it so unique, is that Leona often collaborates with other indie handmade small businesses. This time it's Karen Mabon, who designed the brooch, Play Purse, who made the cat purse, Tea & Crafting who designed the cross stitch kit, and Tiny Grey Cat who designed the Christmas card, who I followed on instagram for ages before this box. In previous months there have been collabs with brands like I Love Crafty, and Crown and Glory.
 photo fdgdfh.jpg
Everything is always super cute, and each month is themed. I think the themes I've had were Birds of Paradise, Raining Cats and Dogs, Vintage Village Fete, Dinosaur Disco, Under the Sea, A Geek Girl's Guide to Travel, Slumber Party, Biscuits, Space Girl, & Cat's & Cocktails. Even though there have been themes I've enjoyed less than others (Dinosaur Disco and Space Girl), I've never wanted to unsub, because I am genuinely excited at the end of the month when I know they are due to be popping through the door.
 
The box costs £18, and you can get a subscription only on the first of each month, usually super early, because they sell out quick! Or you can buy a one off version for £20 to sample the box before you commit. Lucky Dip Club was UK only this year, but I believe it will be available worldwide next year, & cost £5 for shipping (free if you live in the UK). Definitely would recommend giving this box a try if you like supporting indie businesses and getting surprises in the mail each month.
 ♥

Monday, December 21, 2015

♥ Japan Crate December Doki Doki Box Review ♥

 photo sfafwa.jpg
Recently the lovely people over at Japan Crate sent me an emailing, telling me about their new idea for a subscription box, called the Doki Doki box, which would be filled with cute things from Japan, and offered me one to review. I gladly accepted, because I love trying out subscription boxes, and I love cute things even more!
 photo gddfsg.jpg
Japan Crate are already known for their Japanese candy subscription box, which comes with 3 sizes & prices, so this expansion into cute stuff makes sense. The Doki Doki box is $30, or about £20 per month, with free US shipping (or $20 shipping internationally). In the December edition, their first release, I got lots of cute things. They promise between 8-10 items, & there were 9 in this box.
I got:
  • Rilakkuma plush
  • Panda eyemask
  • Jello candy kit
  • Totoro desk calendar
  • Alpacasso mini coin purse
  • Hello Kitty figurine
  • Totoro pouch
  • Pikachu necklace
  • Totoro character plush
 photo fdgsdg.jpg
There's also a pretty illustrated leaflet that tells you everything that should be in you box, and more information about the box.
 photo dgadfg.jpg
One thing that's really nice about this box, is that all the products are the branded ones, rather than knockoff versions, which can be a thing with other similar subscription boxes. I think the panda eye mask is the only thing that is offbrand. I also liked how many Totoro things there were, since that's my favourite Ghibli film. I especially love the desk calendar, as that is the perfect mix of cute and useful, I know I will get a lot of use out of that over the next year.
 
My favourite thing was the tiny Alpacasso purse though, I've wanted an alpaca by Amuse for ages, so I'm now one step closer to that goal, haha! I also really like the Rilakkuma plush, he's very adorable, and quite big. I turned the Pikachu necklace into a keyring for Carl, as I knew I'd never wear it, and he thinks it's adorable.
 photo sfesfes.jpg
Altogether very happy with this box. I've tried a similar box before, the Kawaii Box, I reviewed here, which was cheaper at $18.90 a month, including shipping, but most of the things in that were offbrand and smaller, although still very cute. I would recommend this box if you live in the US and/or prefer branded kawaii things, and the Kawaii Box if you are on a tighter budget, since this one can get pricy with international shipping!
 
Georgina ♥

Thursday, December 17, 2015

♥ Christmassy Bits & Bobs ♥

 photo dfssf.jpg
Hi again everyone! Sorry I've been so terrible AGAIN with updating the blog. But anyway, I'm back, and I have lots of new posts planned. This one is all about things that are making me feel festive. I love Christmas, so I decided to treat myself to a beauty advent calendar this year! I've not had one before, as I've seen them on plenty of blogs over the last few years.
 
I didn't know what one to go for, because there are so many options nowadays, I kinda wanted the Body Shop one, but at £60 it was more than I wanted to pay. I ended up with this pretty L'occitane one, which was cheaper at £40. I've opened 17 of the days so far, and I really like the contents. I have lots of pretty sample sized creams and things. There's also a few non beauty bits in there, like illustrated gift tags, and name cards, which I plan to put to use, since I'm hosting Christmas again this year. It's definitely more exciting than my chocolate calendar.
 photo sdgvewfw.jpg
Asda bring out the cutest Christmas bedding every year, so I decided to get some. It was £12 for a double size, and now my bedroom feels very Christmassy. The Thumper pillows don't really go though, haha!
 photo sfesfe.jpg
Blossoming Gifts sent me another of their bouquets to review, I picked this Cinnamon Spice one from their Christmas flower range, and it smells SO good! The cinnamon sticks really make the living room smell delightful, and the red flowers and berries certainly add a festive feel. You can still get 33% off a bouquet with code BGIFTS33.
 photo sfeasf.jpg  photo sfsdfa.jpg
Decorating the house for the second year! We put our tree up a few weeks ago, and I got this wreath for basically free with my Tesco clubcard points. I decorated with some of their tree decorations, also bought with my points! Would have hung it on the front door, but it's made of plastic, so can't really put a nail in the door without compromising it!
 photo sfawf.jpg
Carl & I went ice skating and Christmas shopping together in the local town centre the other week, where there was a "German" Market on. We got these adorable gingerbread hearts for each other, how cute are they? Not sure I can bring myself to eat mine, it's just decorating the dresser in the living room at the moment.
 
 ♥

Monday, September 28, 2015

♥ Too Faced Grand Palais Review ♥

 photo fdsgsdg.jpg
I recently ordered the Too Faced Le Grand Palais holiday palette from Sephora. I've been loving Too Faced recently, I just reviewed this blush, & now all the holiday 2015 items are coming out & I couldn't resist! This is a Sephora exclusive, so I had to order it from the US.
 photo dsgeg.jpg
Firstly, the packaging is again adorable, & part of the reason I ordered. This palette costs $58, which I think was around £39 when I placed my order. Ordering from the UK meant I had to pay about £10 to ship it, & another £10 in fees & taxes, making it pricy to ship. On the positive side, there were no unexpected customs charges, since these are all paid by Sephora before your parcel arrives.
 photo dgsersg.jpg
The set includes a deluxe sized Better Than Sex Mascara, deluxe Melted Lipstick in Peony, a deluxe sixe of their Shadow Insurance & an 18 eyeshadow & 2 blush, 1 highlight & contour palette. The website boasts a value of $378, but I'm not sure how true this is.
 photo dfgversg.jpg
I've wanted to try the Better Than Sex mascara for a while, I couldn't easily get hold of it so I bought Benefit's Roller Lash instead, so it will be interesting to see how it compares, as they are a similar price. The Melted Lipstick I also really wanted to try, I tested it out the other day & & the consistency & colour is nice, kinda similar to one of my favourite Mac lipsticks, Chatterbox, but slightly more pink. The Shadow Insurance I already have a mini of, I got it in my last Too Faced palette (the Pixie Pin Ups one), so I already know that is good.
 photo gawgfw.jpg
The eye shadow palette is removable from the main box, which means if you can bear to throw it away, the size of this is easy to store. I don't think I will be throwing mine away, it's too cute, but I have no idea where I'm going to keep it, as it's kinda impractical in size, and for using on a daily basis.
 photo dfgdergsg.jpg
A lot of the eye shadows in this palette are very sparkly, which I've heard others don't like, but I don't mind. I only have 4 eyeshadow palettes, so these are colours I don't have. You also get 2 blushes, 1 highlighter & a bronzer. I don't really use bronzer (too pale!), so I probably won't use this shade at all, but since it's only one colours I thought the palette was still worth it. I can't wait to try out all the shadows, like I said, I don't have these colours really, so I am looking forward to playing around.
 photo dfgewfsw.jpg
Would you buy this palette? Or do you have your eye on a different holiday item?

Saturday, September 19, 2015

♥Too Faced Love Flush Review ♥

 photo grsega.jpg
Ever since this blush came out, I've been anxiously checking for a UK release. I didn't want to order from the Too Faced store, because shipping costs made it too expensive. Eventually I spotted it on a little website called Rose's Beauty Store, for £24, which seemed reasonable. I didn't realise it was an import store, but seeing as this blush is due to be stocked in Debenhams for £25, the price seemed pretty good!
 photo dhyerstwe.jpg
The packaging is an adorable pink plastic heart compact with mirror & magnetic closure. I've heard a lot of people say that it reminds them of Polly Pockets (the 90s kind, not that modern day crap, haha!), & I can definitely see that. The packaging is most of the reason I wanted this blush, to be honest. I'm a sucker for cute makeup!
 photo dyjtrh.jpg
Upon opening the compact, you can see the blush has been pressed into the most freaking adorable bunny & floral design. This just makes me so happy, even though it obviously won't last after using the compact a good few times. I got the colour Justify My Love, there are 5 other shades available, & I believe that these will be a permanent addition to Too Face's line. 
 
This shade is a lovely cool toned pale pink, with small flecks of gold glitter. It boasts a 16 hour wear time, but as I never wear makeup for that long, I can't confirm that. I would really like to try another shade, but being a high end brand, it's kinda pricey, so I think I'll have to wait on that. And I don't really *need* another blush anyway!
 photo gdrgst.jpg
Anyone else a sucker for cute packaging?

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

♥ Blossoming Gifts Review ♥

 photo rgwegtwe.jpg  photo rysrgse.jpg
I was sent these lovely flowers by a company called Blossoming Gifts, who sell flower delivery bouquets & other such gifts. I chose the "Summer Meadow", from their Summer flowers range. They definitely brightened up my bedroom. I love fresh flowers so much, but never get fancy bouquets, just £2 or £3 bunches from the local shop, so it was a real treat to have these.
 photo dgrsg.jpg
The roses started drooping after a week, which isn't the best life from roses I've had, but the rest of the flowers are still doing pretty well 2 weeks on from delivery. They arrived promptly & well packaged on the day I chose. This bunch costs £34.99 & came with free chocolates, but you can get 33% off your own bouquet with the code BGIFTS33, which would be great for a gift.
 ♥

Wednesday, September 09, 2015

♥ Kawaii Box Review - August 2015 ♥

 photo rstges.jpg
I was recently sent the Kawaii Box, a subscription box service from Blippo, which is filled with lots of cute things from Japan. In each box there are 10-12 items that range from sweets, to stationery, to plushies. The box costs $18.90, which I think is about £15, & this includes shipping. You can also subscribe for longer to get a cheaper box. My box took 2 weeks exactly to arrive & came with a tracking number so you can see where it is at all times.
 photo drgr.jpg
Upon opening the box you are greeted with a thank you note, which also lists all of the things in the box. I didn't look too long at that, because that would spoil the surprise!
 photo dhdgs.jpg
After opening the tissue paper, there are lots of cute things. I got 11 items in this box. From adding up the costs of similar items on the Blippo site, I estimate the value of this box to be around £25, which definitely makes it a great deal. The items I got are: Puffy Bear Stickers; Squishy Ice Lolly Phone Charm, Cloud Envelopes; Macaron Charm Pen; DIY Candy Kit; Alapaca Tin Purse; Pig Spray Bottle, Neko Cat Plush; Pink Ribbon Shoelaces; Blue Gingham Tape & a Dinosaur Pencil Tin.
 photo fjdhjdfx.jpg  photo djhgfsj.jpg
I currently only subscribe to one subscription box, the LuckyDipClub one, which I absolutely love, but I feel like this one is worth considering, because I don't think I got anything that I didn't like, and I'd really like a box of cute Japanese things every month to look forward to. I've also tried Glossy Boxes, but I didn't really like those much, I didn't think the items were worth it.
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Do you subscribe to any boxes? Do you think they are worth it?

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

♥ Elomi Betty & Maria ♥

 photo srfefw.jpg
Recently I was contacted by the people over at Elomi, who make bras in bigger sizes & are currently nominated for best underwear brand at the British Plus Size Awards. They very kindly offered me a set to review, & I chose the Betty bra & briefs in blush. This set is gorgeous, a lovely pale pink colour with polka dots & rose detailed embroidery.
 
I usually wear a 38j, but as this set only goes to a hh cup, I opted for the 40hh instead, & it fits perfectly. I've never tried Elomi before, I usually wear Curvy Kate bras, but I think I'm a convert, this was way more comfortable than any of my usual bras. Maybe I should try a 40hh in those too.
 photo drgtezt.jpg
I was also recently contacted by the shop Bras & Honey, who also offered me a set from their website to review. They stock Curvy Kate, Freya, Fantasie, Elomi & more. I opted for another Elomi set, this time the babydoll set Maria. This set is really floaty & pretty. I got this in a 40h, the biggest cup size they do in this, & it fits pretty well, & is still comfortable, but not as much as the Betty above. I ideally would have needed the 40hh, but seeing as this isn't everyday underwear, it doesn't matter too much.
 
Elomi are little above what I normally pay for bras, which is around the £30-35 mark, whereas the Betty bra is £42 rrp, but I definitely think that it is worth it, & would buy another in the future. The babydoll retails for £60, but is available for £51 at the moment on the Bras & Honey website, which isn't bad.
 
The knickers on the other hand are rather pricey in my opinion, running at about £20 each, which I would hate to pay, & would probably only buy on sale. I've dabbled in bra making & knicker making, & knickers are definitely so easy to make, it would hurt to pay that much for one set, but bras on the other hand are so fiddly and complicated, especially to get a perfect fit, that they are worth the money in my opinion.
 
Have any of you tried Elomi? What did you think?

Saturday, August 01, 2015

♥ Yorkshire Day ♥

 photo rgetw.jpg
Recently the lovely people at Betty's asked me if I'd like to try one of their hampers to celebrate Yorkshire Day, which is today, August the 1st. Of course I said yes, and the other day I received a large box crammed full of lovely Yorkshire made treats!
 photo trghersgesr.jpg
They sent over a box of macarons, florentines, chocolate ganache bees, tea, fondant fancies, and some "Fat Rascals", which are their own special scones, along with a cute little branded Betty's mug. Everything was delightfully packaged, in cute patterned boxes, illustrated with all sorts of cakes & goodies.
 photo fgesgtewr.jpg  photo rgest.jpg
Carl & I decided to have a little tea party for two, to celebrate him moving in. We made little finger sandwiches, & I arranged everything on pretty plates, & had ourselves a feast. We ended up with plenty left over, as the cakes were very filling.
 
My favourite things were the little bumble bees, they look almost too adorable to eat! The macarons were also a nice treat, as I've only every had one professionally made one before, I've made them in the past, but never having anything to compare them too, wasn't sure if I was making them correctly.
 photo dgzswtwtsw.jpg
Overall it was a lovely treat, and I would definitely recommend ordering a hamper from Betty's for a special occasion, as their cakes have that extra "something". Or, if you are local to Yorkshire, I believe they serve afternoon tea in their tea rooms, so definitely pop in if you are in the area! I know we will be if we ever find ourselves up there.
 
♥ Georgina

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

♥ Things I've Been Loving ♥

 photo grsfefr.jpg
Tsum Tsums! These recently went on sale in the Disney store, & I had to get some! I bought myself Marie, Miss Bunny & Lady, & my lovely boyfriend got me Bambi, Thumper & Dumbo. They are only £3 each, which I thought was reasonable. They do bigger sizes, but I liked the minis the best, plus they had the most variation! They are so cute!
 photo rgewfre.jpg
The Body Shop! I honestly hadn't been in here since I was about 11 or so, when I used to go shopping with school friends and they would drag me in here. I saw a few youtube videos reviewing some of the things they had in there recently, so I thought I'd take a look. Of course, I completely forgot what I was searching for when I got in there, so I just looked at the things that looked most appealing. I picked up the grapefruit body scrub, & the strawberry body sorbet. Both smell delicious, especially the sorbet, which also has the most gorgeous texture & leaves my skin feeling really soft.
 
I then looked up online what I had wanted to get, which was the bouncy sleeping mask, so I placed an order on the site too. I also got another sorbet, the mango scented one, because I love the strawberry one so much! They have an offer at the minute to get up to 30% off, & a free gift when you spend over £10, the code is on their site, which I used, & got the Satsuma body polish pictured. I didn't realise it would be full size, so I was rather impressed when it arrived!
 photo arar.jpg
Fresh flowers! I got sent these lovely roses recently by Debenhams Flower Delivery service, & they smelled so nice! I am terrible at flower arranging though, & couldn't get them to look half as nice as in the picture, but they still brightened up the room considerably! Normally I buy myself cheaper flowers from grocery stores like tulips or daffodils, so it was such a treat to have a proper bouquet. They looked even nicer when the freesias bloomed fully, but I didn't get a picture of that, sadly. If you'd like to get 25% off a bouquet, you can use the code DFBLOG25!
 photo sefewfrw.jpg  photo reyerayer.jpg
Walter! Like I said in my last post I went away to Wales a week or so ago, so I got to spend lots of time with this lovely monster. I didn't take any outfit posts up there like I said I would, the weather was pretty terrible, but I still had a nice time.
 photo fewfraw.jpg
Presents! Carl & I came home a week before my family, & they brought back this cute little figurine for me, how sweet of them!
 
 ♥ Georgina

Saturday, August 16, 2014

♥ Foxes & Phones ♥

 photo ewtwerw.jpg  photo thyrey4ey64.jpg
 photo ewrewtwtw43t3.jpg  photo sgtetwe.jpg
 photo gtretaeye.jpg Hello again everyone! It's been a while (again!). I really need to start getting back into the swing of doing outfit posts more often again. Anyway, here's one from yesterday, I wore my new-ish Hell Bunny dress, which I really love. It's so pink & pretty, & the full circle skirt is pretty fun. I teamed it with my old favourite H&M cardigan, some new shoes (which I got on sale, they were only £12), because I love my pink ones so much, & a pink bag, because every outfit needs lots of pink :p
 photo djtdrudtr.jpg
 photo rtueyer.jpg
I thought I'd show you all my new Acer mobile phone, which I very kindly got sent to do a liquid e3 review of. I've never had a smartphone before, so it's quite a novelty. My phone beforehand was one of those slidey phones from 2005, so it was time for an upgrade.
 
I've been using it for around a month or so now, it's pretty easy to use, & it's such a novelty being able to internet whilst out and about. I decorated a case for it that you can see above, to make it cuter, because I think most smartphones look a bit boring and plain otherwise. It has a huge screen, which with my tiny hands I kinda struggle to hold, but it makes it really good for watching stuff on the go, & facebooking & instagramming and all that jazz:p I don't really know what else to say, because like I've said, I've not had a smartphone before, so don't have much basis for comparison. It does all the regular phone stuff too, obviously, but my favourite feature is definitely being able to internet out of the house.

This phone is supposed to be really good at taking photos, so I included a shot of my outfit taken with the back camera. Obviously it doesn't compare to my dslr, but I think it's pretty good for a phone, & definitely better than my ipad mini camera. You can edit the photos on the camera too, without needing an app, which is useful.
 photo dthjudryry.jpg  photo t5htrhjrthj.jpg  photo ewtwetewrq3w.jpg
 photo eryeryey.jpg
Anyway, that's it for today, hopefully I shall be back soon with another outfit post!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
© 2010-2012 Georgina Doull